Menu 

Testimonials: Orthopaedic Surgery

At the time, it didn’t seem like such a bad fall. I was able to quickly get back to my feet. The pain in my elbow was really bad and the swollen nature if the dislocation was such that I didn’t even notice the pain in my hip. Over the next week or so, as treatment on the elbow had begun, I begin to notice more and more pain in my right hip and had developed a significant limp.

The initial diagnosis of the hip was a minor fracture of the acetabulum. Physical therapy was the prescribed treatment. After months of PT, it was not getting any better. In fact, the pain was increasing and motion was becoming more restricted. Injections of the hip did not produce any better results. Eventually, the diagnosis came back that the injury to the hip produced a significant onset on existing Osteoarthritis. Before the injury, I never knew the arthritis was present. A total hip replacement was the only answer.

The doctor I was seeing was very good. However, he only did posterior surgery. From what I was able to learn, the anterior approach was the much better way to go. “Everyone” was recommending I travel to Hospital for Special Surgery (HSS) in NYC. Not being a fan of dealing with travel into the city, not to mention the cost of a trip, I searched for a doctor in my area (Somerset, NJ).

My search led me to Dr. Stephen Kayiaros at University Orthopaedic Associates, right in my town. The fact he had trained at HSS led me to call for an appointment immediately. At my first appointment he confirmed the diagnosis and determined I was a good candidate for outpatient surgery. I must say that I was completely impressed by his knowledge and how he carried himself (despite his very youthful appearance, he knows his stuff!).

The day of the surgery came. I was in surgery at 7:30am and back in my own home by noon. The incision was minimal. The recovery went extremely well. Very quickly I was back to my pre-injury self. My range of motion with the right hip is great. To be able to do the “little things” like putting on my shoes and socks without pain or effort is wonderful.

It’s only been six months but I am very pleased with the results. Dr. Kayiaros and all the staff have been great! From the receptionist when you first walk in the door, to his Physician’s Assistant, to the nurses, to the x-ray technicians, to the insurance specialist, to his assistant who scheduled my surgery, all the way to the final desk… everyone was pleasant and great to deal with, I am very pleased with them all and highly recommend them.

Edmund D. Seponosky

I want to express my sincere gratitude and thanks to UOA and specifically Dino Pinciotti. Dino is extremely knowledgeable in his field and explained every detail of my injury (left shoulder rotation) and the course of treatment he was recommending. He comes across very passionate in what he does and seems to enjoy it. It is Dino’s “bedside manners” that makes you feel so at ease and comfortable when he treats you. He’s funny and takes pride in understanding your injury. I would highly recommend Dino/UOA to others who require PT.
D.C.

My name is Janette Brindle and I had IT Band Release surgery November 10 2016 with Dr. Swan.  I was seeing him in his Wall office.  I just wanted to take this opportunity to thank him for changing my life. I am successfully back to running.  Prior to meeting Dr. Swan, I was out of the game for a year and a half because of severe iliotibial band pain.  Now, I am pain-free and as happy as ever.  I am including some pictures for Dr. Swan.  After resuming running in January, I started training for the NYC half marathon, which I completed on March 19.  A week later, I ran the 17.75K in Dumfries, VA, which granted me access to the 42nd Marine Corps Marathon in Arlington Virginia on October 22. 2017!  I can't thank him enough.  Without him, none of these achievements would be possible! You should be proud
Janette Brindle

A pleasant place to come to. Attentive staff who take a personal interest in your care. Very satisfied.

Dr. Kayiaros is an amazing surgeon! He is kind, listens, and addresses all your concerns. My hip replacement went as smoothly as Dr. Kayiaros explained, even better. Several years ago I had my other hip replaced by a different surgeon using the Posterior approach. It was truly barbaric in comparison to the Anterior approach that Dr. Kayiaros performed. With the posterior approach my recovery was 12-16 weeks, a lot of Physical Therapy, tons of restrictions, a lot of pain, loss of muscle in my thigh, and a huge scar. With Dr. Kayiaros and Anterior Approach I was back to work full time in 4 weeks, there was really no Physical Therapy and the pain was minimal. There was no restrictions. There is No muscle loss, and the scar is very small. I thank Dr. Kayiaros and University Orthopedics with all my heart and recommend them highly!
Lynda McLennan

Dean (Dino) was very helpful and professional. He worked me very hard (which was appropriate) and I usually called him my physical tyrant instead of my physical therapist. I would recommend him highly.
L.S.

Love you forever Dr. Polonet! <3 Helped save my life and gave me the best that he could in helping me to live a productive life. Funny tho, he wish he could have miraculously done more. He saved my arm. A miracle all in itself. Love you forever Dr. Polonet. And you too Regina.<3
Elizabeth Bell

I want to take a moment and tell you about my experience at University  Orthopedic Associates in Somerset.  My issue was not as serious as many  patients that depend on the doctors and physical therapy at UOA but even  so Doctor McDonnell took the time and care to examine every possibility  that was causing my difficulties.  We decided that I should work with  the PT staff.  When you visit the facilities you are welcomed by  informative and friendly girls at the front desk.  From my first visit  with Lynn and then two months working Kevin I am able to go about life  as usual.  The professionalism and care that everyone receives here is  exceptional. It was interesting to watch each therapist focus on their  patients’     requirements as well as interact with each other and  communicate ideas.  They worked very effectively as a team.  The ability  to work with patients under stress and provide care with an upbeat  attitude is key to anyone’s recovery.   Thank you especially to Kevin,  and to Billy who always had the equipment set up correctly for me.
Rosalie B.

1 2 3 24

Waiting for An Accident to Happen

…That’s how Dr. Jeffrey R. Bechler of UOA describes his role as head orthopaedic consultant for Princeton University’s football team. And that’s exactly what happened during Mike Zeuli’s freshman year game. When the pile on top of Zeuli dismantled, Bechler could see the player’s leg bent at an unnatural 90-degree angle from all the way across the field. Watch the story of Zeuli, who with Bechler’s help, went on to become the 2014 Ivy League Co-Defensive Player of the Year and then later sign a rookie minicamp deal with the NFL Philadelphia Eagles in 2015…
Mike Zeuli

“I am forever indebted to Dr. Doumas. I think he is an amazing doctor. He saved Ariana’s opportunity to compete. He will now be on board our team as she grows in the sport.” Read Ariana's Story

Dr. Gatt is awesome. Love his approach to my recovery. Recommended PT over surgery & meds 1st. UOA PT @Monmouth is unbelievable - from my very 1st encounter w/ Kendall over the phone. Super friendly & knowledgeable. Lynn & her staff are wonderful especially Jess who attended my PT. She was patient and kind. She always answered all my questions with her knowledge and was always understanding. I really will miss seeng these girls every week. This is a very friendly and fun atmosphere aside from all the hard work that needs to be done but they make it bearable and actually enjoyable. I recommend UOA to anyone without hesitation.
Theresa H.

This is my daughter Shannon’s second time at physical therapy for a knee injury from gymnastics. She worked with Neveen who was awesome! After her evaluation of her injury Neveen work with Shannon to provide her with the best exercises to help her. She gave her challenging skills to strengthen her knee which truly helped. During her time at PT Shannon did have to have her knee taped and Neveen was so helpful in showing my daughter how to tape when she couldn’t be at PT. I would highly recommend this organization and Neveen to friends and family. It was easy to work with her and the staff for scheduling and appointments. Thank you to Neveen for everything!
S.G

Jake Bobal keenly remembers a pivotal high school football game during his junior year. It was the third quarter in a regular season game against Somerville. The Montgomery High School middle linebacker planted his foot during a tackle. He continued to fall, but his leg stayed rooted to the ground. “I first heard the pop, and I was helped up, took one wobbly step and my whole leg collapsed. I realized it was not good.” [...] Read Jake's Story


“I work with doctors all day long and I have never met a doctor like him. He connects with you on a personal level and never makes you feel like you are being rushed. When you are sending your child into not one, but two surgeries you want to make sure you trust the doctor. I trusted him immediately which says a lot about his character." Read Nick's Story

Lynn was great! She was patient with my many questions. I highly recommend her.
Francis

1 2

At the time, it didn’t seem like such a bad fall. I was able to quickly get back to my feet. The pain in my elbow was really bad and the swollen nature if the dislocation was such that I didn’t even notice the pain in my hip. Over the next week or so, as treatment on the elbow had begun, I begin to notice more and more pain in my right hip and had developed a significant limp.

The initial diagnosis of the hip was a minor fracture of the acetabulum. Physical therapy was the prescribed treatment. After months of PT, it was not getting any better. In fact, the pain was increasing and motion was becoming more restricted. Injections of the hip did not produce any better results. Eventually, the diagnosis came back that the injury to the hip produced a significant onset on existing Osteoarthritis. Before the injury, I never knew the arthritis was present. A total hip replacement was the only answer.

The doctor I was seeing was very good. However, he only did posterior surgery. From what I was able to learn, the anterior approach was the much better way to go. “Everyone” was recommending I travel to Hospital for Special Surgery (HSS) in NYC. Not being a fan of dealing with travel into the city, not to mention the cost of a trip, I searched for a doctor in my area (Somerset, NJ).

My search led me to Dr. Stephen Kayiaros at University Orthopaedic Associates, right in my town. The fact he had trained at HSS led me to call for an appointment immediately. At my first appointment he confirmed the diagnosis and determined I was a good candidate for outpatient surgery. I must say that I was completely impressed by his knowledge and how he carried himself (despite his very youthful appearance, he knows his stuff!).

The day of the surgery came. I was in surgery at 7:30am and back in my own home by noon. The incision was minimal. The recovery went extremely well. Very quickly I was back to my pre-injury self. My range of motion with the right hip is great. To be able to do the “little things” like putting on my shoes and socks without pain or effort is wonderful.

It’s only been six months but I am very pleased with the results. Dr. Kayiaros and all the staff have been great! From the receptionist when you first walk in the door, to his Physician’s Assistant, to the nurses, to the x-ray technicians, to the insurance specialist, to his assistant who scheduled my surgery, all the way to the final desk… everyone was pleasant and great to deal with, I am very pleased with them all and highly recommend them.

Edmund D. Seponosky

Dr. Kayiaros is an amazing surgeon! He is kind, listens, and addresses all your concerns. My hip replacement went as smoothly as Dr. Kayiaros explained, even better. Several years ago I had my other hip replaced by a different surgeon using the Posterior approach. It was truly barbaric in comparison to the Anterior approach that Dr. Kayiaros performed. With the posterior approach my recovery was 12-16 weeks, a lot of Physical Therapy, tons of restrictions, a lot of pain, loss of muscle in my thigh, and a huge scar. With Dr. Kayiaros and Anterior Approach I was back to work full time in 4 weeks, there was really no Physical Therapy and the pain was minimal. There was no restrictions. There is No muscle loss, and the scar is very small. I thank Dr. Kayiaros and University Orthopedics with all my heart and recommend them highly!
Lynda McLennan

June 21st this year, I had TKR Surgery - left Knee (Dr. Harwood) Did Pre/Lim Home Therapy after short Hospital stay. Mid July started Outpatient Physical Therapy at Somerset UOA with Lynn Ust as primary. By the first half of September my progress was extraordinarily successful..! was very comfortable, resumed driving and performed many of my daily activities in a normal fashion. This September 20th , Back again to RWJ ( Dr. Harwood) for a TKR on my Right Knee. Plan is to return to UOA Somerset for Physical Therapy. Here also I expect excellent results. My History with UOA goes back 40 + years , seven Ortho procedures/surgeries. (I tend to be a bit active) They have the very best caring, competent, skilled, office, medical and physical therapy staff in their profession.
Gerald Forte

I had a total knee joint replacement performed by Dr. Harwood, followed by physical therapy with Mohammed and Lynn. I can't say enough about the wonderful care I received from start to finish from all of the people at UOA. Mohammed and Lynn were my physical therapists and they were very encouraging, professional, and knowledgeable. My surgery was 12 weeks ago and I feel like a new person with a new life ahead of me. I highly recommend the UOA physical therapists for those who are recovering from total knee joint replacement.
Sue Marotto

The week of Thanksgiving, 2015, Dr. Stephen Kayiaros performed my bilateral anterior total hip replacement (those are my new hips in the X-ray). I chose him for his impressive background and his experience, as well as his caring and compassionate nature. I had been in excruciating pain for ages and was walking slowly with a cane. I felt like a miserable, enfeebled old woman. I was confident that Dr. Kayiaros and this surgery were right for me. It wasn't long after the procedure that I was pain free and walking unaided! Dr. Kayiaros gave me my life back, and I feel like he restored my youth! I can once again enjoy exploring outdoors and dancing, and I'm finally able to be a very active volunteer at Monkey's House, a Dog Hospice and Sanctuary (www.monkeyshouse.org)! Anything seems possible now! Hip-hip-hooray, thank you, Dr. K.!
Sue B.

I have seen over the past years, Dr. Doumas for my elbow injury, and Dr. Chiappetta for back and neck. I am now seeing Dr. Swan for my knee. All are excellent and I highly recommend this group of doctors.
Dr. Swan takes time explaining all procedures and is attentive to all of my problems. I am not an "easy" patient to deal with, but he is very understanding and puts my mind at ease. With Dr. Swan, I feel three is no need for another opinion. I have total confidence in his ability .

Dr. Bechler repaired my right shoulder in 2003 and Dr. Monica repaired my left shoulder in March 2015. Dr. Monica got me healed up and ready to continue my weekend warrior fun of mud races and softball. I was playing ball again in mid-July and did my first mud run (the easy one) the Rugged Maniac (a 5k run with 18 obstacles) in late July. I then prepared for the Tough Mudder that I completed last weekend which was a 10 mile run with 22 obstacles).
2016 I will find my next tough mudder in October but also try my first Spartan Beast which is 12-14 miles, 30-35 obstacles (I may need a doctors note from you so my wife will let me do it)- thanks Dr. Monica !!
Alan

Lynn, my therapist was professional, yet caring. Her assessment and instructions were right on target and made my recovery possible in record fashion. My new hip and I deeply appreciate her skills and competency. Additionally, the office staff and physical environment made this a happy and healthy experience.
Virginia Treacy

1 2 3

I have been treating for the last two years with many doctors and from the moment I contacted UOA to the moment I left their offices I was treated as though I was the most important patient that ever walked through their doors.  The staff was not only patient, kind, understanding and listened to me, but very professional and polite.  The staff was dressed professionally and used social graces.  The physician, Dr. McDonnell was very patient, listened to me and explained to me exactly what our course of procedure was going to be.  Out of the last three orthopedic practices I have frequented in the Monmouth County area, this is by far the best practice I have treated at and I will continue to treat at this practice and refer not only my family and friends, but also my clients and future clients.  I could not recommend this facility any more highly!!!

I had been in pain for over 2 years and had many shots and have taken many medications. It wasn't until I was referred to Dr.McDonnell by my pain management Dr. that I finally found hope for relief of the pain I was feeling in my neck and arm. I saw Dr McDonnell and as soon as he saw my MRI he knew I needed surgery ASAP to get any real relief from the pain I was having. His office scheduled my surgery two weeks from the day I met with him.


Today is day 3 after surgery I have some soreness but the pain in my arm is gone! Dr McDonnell is the best if you have pain please don't wait and call his office to get a appt. With him he will make you feel like yourself again. HE IS THE BEST AND ONE OF THE BEST CHOICES I EVER MADE WAS TO MEET WITH HIM. THANK YOU DR MCDONNELL!

Maria

I have seen over the past years, Dr. Doumas for my elbow injury, and Dr. Chiappetta for back and neck. I am now seeing Dr. Swan for my knee. All are excellent and I highly recommend this group of doctors.
Dr. Swan takes time explaining all procedures and is attentive to all of my problems. I am not an "easy" patient to deal with, but he is very understanding and puts my mind at ease. With Dr. Swan, I feel three is no need for another opinion. I have total confidence in his ability .

I recently had back surgery at UOA. I did my PT upstairs from the doctor’s office. It was a wonderful experience. My therapist was excellent. She was pleasant, friendly, and knowledgeable and helped me so much. I recuperated so well from my PT that in 2 months I felt like a new person. I will definitely use them again in the future.
FP

From the minute I made an appointment with their knowledgeable staff, I felt comfortable. As a new patient, my wait time was extremely short!! I was greeted as soon as I walked into their Somerset office and treated with such professionalism. The staff is extremely caring and polite. I was treated by Dr. McDonnell for my lower back. When he said I needed an MRI, who would've guessed that an MRI and physical therapy and a surgery center is all under the same roof? There was no running around for tests. I was extremely nervous the day of my surgery, however the staff at UCAS and UOA assisted me in every way possible to make sure I was okay. Thank you, Dr. McDonnell and staff for giving me my life back! I'm now able to play basketball with my son and pick up my one-year-old daughter. Team UOA!!
Davie McIarty

Thank you to the AMAZING staff and UCAS for your assistance with my husbands back surgery with Dr. McDonnell. Amanda, Janice and Susan will forever be embedded in our minds for catering to my husband and easing his fears while maintaining extreme professionalism! I never thought the surgical process could possibly run so smooth! I cant thank you all enough!! I wish you all the best and thank you for EVERYTHING.
Dr. McDonnell Patient

When I started therapy I was a potential surgical candidate. Through physical therapy I was able to strengthen my back to the point that I am no longer considering surgical options. Beyond the structural therapy I have a personal plan to continue my rehab.
Fred

I told people the pain was gone. It went away one afternoon and I was able to go back to work in January 2014. I was thinking that I was never going to make it back to work...I can’t say enough good about Dr. Chiappetta. He’s the best doctor I ever had. I just think he’s great. Read Eileen Loftus' Story

1 2

I had my shoulder surgery October 7th. with Dr. Coyle, and I would like to say thanks for a tremendous job before and after.  Not forgetting all those I interacted with from the time started the process at the Group's office, X-ray, MRI, and Surgery scheduling, I was met with nothing less than proficiency & efficiency. On the day of the surgery, at the PreOp, Janice and Jennifer, and at PACU Susan, as well as Joan Grady, and to all the others that I didn't catch their names, you really are the utmost of caring & competence. Thank you all.
May God bless you all.

“I am forever indebted to Dr. Doumas. I think he is an amazing doctor. He saved Ariana’s opportunity to compete. He will now be on board our team as she grows in the sport.” Read Ariana's Story

University Orthopaedic Associates of NJ has outstanding doctors, each with a specific area of specialty. While this may make you think that they will not know you personally, especially if you have injured more than one body area. The opposite is true. By your second visit you will have a repore that includes kindness, compassion, and the ability to put you at ease. They will answer any question including the day of your surgery. But don't think that because they're all surgeons that surgery is their first option. Physical therapy and pain management were just two of the modalities used before we decided after 2 - 4 years of treatment before surgery HAD to be scheduled. I have been going to University Orthopaedic Associates since about 1999. My husband also needed spinal surgery and had the same positive experience with Dr. Chiappetta. When my shoulder and upper arm were injured, Dr. Leddy's response was physical therapy - not surgery. I cannot say enough tremendous things about UOA. They all provide the highest quality of care. No egos here - just sensational doctors creating an improved quality of life for all they touch.
 
DS

I have seen over the past years, Dr. Doumas for my elbow injury, and Dr. Chiappetta for back and neck. I am now seeing Dr. Swan for my knee. All are excellent and I highly recommend this group of doctors.
Dr. Swan takes time explaining all procedures and is attentive to all of my problems. I am not an "easy" patient to deal with, but he is very understanding and puts my mind at ease. With Dr. Swan, I feel three is no need for another opinion. I have total confidence in his ability .

Dr. Bechler repaired my right shoulder in 2003 and Dr. Monica repaired my left shoulder in March 2015. Dr. Monica got me healed up and ready to continue my weekend warrior fun of mud races and softball. I was playing ball again in mid-July and did my first mud run (the easy one) the Rugged Maniac (a 5k run with 18 obstacles) in late July. I then prepared for the Tough Mudder that I completed last weekend which was a 10 mile run with 22 obstacles).
2016 I will find my next tough mudder in October but also try my first Spartan Beast which is 12-14 miles, 30-35 obstacles (I may need a doctors note from you so my wife will let me do it)- thanks Dr. Monica !!
Alan

Mary Anne Patient Testimonial


Dovid Patient Testimonial


"I didn’t think it would be so easy. I felt absolutely no pain. I was at the gym five days later, doing a Zumba class." Read Dawn's Story

1 2 3

I first saw him when he came to me in the emergency room. He exuded energy, positivity and warmth. Dr. Polonet was very concerned with my pain level. He made sure that I was comfortable. He’s very sincere with his smile. A God-fearing man. God sent him to me. I was afraid and he reassured me and a made me feel comfortable. I felt confident in what he was going to do.  In about 8 to 10 weeks, I was healed by his hand and God’s hand. Had it not been for Dr. Polonet, I would not have healed. I could not have asked for a better doctor. If I ever fall again, wherever he is, he has to come to me.
Beverly Crudup

Patient of Dr. Gatt Returns to Racing

UOA patient Rob Cavanaugh of West Long Branch was interviewed by the Asbury Park Press after he placed second in the 35th annual Belmar Five Johnny Cobb Memorial Run on Saturday, July 9—a noteworthy accomplishment given that Rob suffered an Achilles injury in March 2010 that kept him from running for a long stretch. He credits his recovery to UOA’s Dr. Charles Gatt, Jr., who performed Achilles tendon surgery on Rob less than one year ago. “I am grateful to Dr. Gatt for everything he did to get me back running on a competitive level,” says Rob, who plans on participating in the remainder of the 2011 Jersey Shore Grand Prix races.
Rob Cavanaugh

Love you forever Dr. Polonet! <3 Helped save my life and gave me the best that he could in helping me to live a productive life. Funny tho, he wish he could have miraculously done more. He saved my arm. A miracle all in itself. Love you forever Dr. Polonet. And you too Regina.<3
Elizabeth Bell

I first saw him when he came to me in the emergency room. He exuded energy, positivity and warmth. Dr. Polonet was very concerned with my pain level. He made sure that I was comfortable. He’s very sincere with his smile. A God-fearing man. God sent him to me. I was afraid and he reassured me and a made me feel comfortable. I felt confident in what he was going to do.  In about 8 to 10 weeks, I was healed by his hand and God’s hand. Had it not been for Dr. Polonet, I would not have healed. I could not have asked for a better doctor. If I ever fall again, wherever he is, he has to come to me.
Beverly Crudup

I broke my femur in February 2013. Dr. Polonet did my surgery to put the bone back together. It was a long recovery. Dr. Polonet not only fixed my leg but also my spirit. He is kind, caring, personable and very professional.

I also did my therapy at University Orthopedics. They were wonderful!! They were tough but kind and I recommend them to everyone who needs physical therapy.
Joann Fossani

Dear Dr. Sagebien, Everyone is brought into this world with a purpose and you were brought into this world to be a great surgeon. We (and especially Sarah) are so grateful to you and so blessed that you helped fix her. It has been a long journey and you helped to shorten it and get her back to a normal life. We will never be able to repay you, but we thank you with the fibers of our being! And in the future (hopefully we won’t need you!), we will surely know who to go to for excellent care. Thank you, Patrick and June Lundy AND SARAH! PS - Best wishes to you and your wonderful staff for continued success!
Sarah Lundy

A Letter to Dr. Polonet

Dr. Polonet, As I sit and reflect on the last 4 months I truly believe that special people come into our lives for a reason, sometimes it is to teach us lessons and help us to grow. We may not always get the message or we may be resistant to the challenges we must face, because growth can be so hard and painful sometimes. Really painful sometimes is a bit of an understatement after this injury stopped me in my tracks. I am learning that if you really listen to that voice inside of you, to your surgeon and you are willing to grow and take those sometimes-difficult steps forward, only then will you reach your full potential. Without any doubt I am grateful for the exceptional team of UOA who entered my life and empowered me to get to this place today. Even though there is work to be done it’s how hard I continue to work that will determine our success. For me that’s getting back both flexion and extension of my elbow. I shared with Jessica on my discharge from physical therapy and with you that UOA is an amazing place. It is clear that UOA has that exceptional team because of exceptional leadership. Patients never forget how you make them feel (well maybe they do) but it’s all the same stuff that has the potential to leave a lasting impression. This includes the friendly from desk team, Jessica’s expertise during PT, getting x-rays, James taking out almost all of my sutures (this meant to put a smile on your face not get him into hot water) and of course, there is you. You drive nothing but positive energy and I knew I had made the right choice with UOA from the start. This has been quite the ride, but I am blessed that you are my surgeon who helped me return to a very active lifestyle. So, the two little words “on purpose” have become very important to me. Life changing actually that “on purpose” my injury brought me to the UOA group and to an outstanding surgeon. This is my huge thanks to you for being an amazing surgeon, for being you, and for truly being authentic. All the best, Eileen Kuzma

Breaking a Shoulder, Arm and Wrist is never a fun ordeal.. until you meet Dr. Christopher Doumas and Jessica Spivey. They make healing a happy time. Dr. Doumas is always there with a smile and willing to go the extra mile for the patient even when he is not scheduled to work. Jessica takes the "scare factor" out of a brutalizing session of Physical Therapy. I used to dread going to a physical therapist, now, I enjoy the process. Thank you UOA for having such wonderful staff. Service with a smile is their motto.
Dovid Egert

I am so grateful for the caring, gifted professionals and staff here. I had so many injuries I wondered how I could ever feel even close to "normal" again. But I found what my body and my spirit needed. Thank you for making words about healing reality. This safe, warm and very competent environment breathes life - and hope.
Virginia Phelan

Dr. Polonet is a beyond excellent doctor and surgeon. I can't say enough about him and his sincere and heartfelt bedside manner. He saved my leg and changed my outlook on life in general. He's an amazing human being and I thank god he was the doctor in the E.R. the night of my accident.
Melanie Morrison

1 2

I want to express my sincere gratitude and thanks to UOA and specifically Dino Pinciotti. Dino is extremely knowledgeable in his field and explained every detail of my injury (left shoulder rotation) and the course of treatment he was recommending. He comes across very passionate in what he does and seems to enjoy it. It is Dino’s “bedside manners” that makes you feel so at ease and comfortable when he treats you. He’s funny and takes pride in understanding your injury. I would highly recommend Dino/UOA to others who require PT.
D.C.

Dean (Dino) was very helpful and professional. He worked me very hard (which was appropriate) and I usually called him my physical tyrant instead of my physical therapist. I would recommend him highly.
L.S.

I want to take a moment and tell you about my experience at University  Orthopedic Associates in Somerset.  My issue was not as serious as many  patients that depend on the doctors and physical therapy at UOA but even  so Doctor McDonnell took the time and care to examine every possibility  that was causing my difficulties.  We decided that I should work with  the PT staff.  When you visit the facilities you are welcomed by  informative and friendly girls at the front desk.  From my first visit  with Lynn and then two months working Kevin I am able to go about life  as usual.  The professionalism and care that everyone receives here is  exceptional. It was interesting to watch each therapist focus on their  patients’     requirements as well as interact with each other and  communicate ideas.  They worked very effectively as a team.  The ability  to work with patients under stress and provide care with an upbeat  attitude is key to anyone’s recovery.   Thank you especially to Kevin,  and to Billy who always had the equipment set up correctly for me.
Rosalie B.

I want to thank Kevin for the excellent service I received in September and this week. Kevin is very warm and kind. I was grateful that my experience was so positive. I didn't have to wait and the treatment was very helpful and greatly improved my knee condition. I send my heartfelt thanks to Kevin and the others who assisted.
Wendy Kuo

My experience with UOA PT was very positive. The atmosphere is very calming and peaceful. Facility, clean and new. I want thank Kevin for the excellent service I received in September and this week. Kevin is very warm and kind. I did not have to wait, and the treatment I received was very helpful and greatly improved my knee condition, I am able to get back to my normal activities within few weeks. I send my heartfelt thanks to Kevin and the others who assisted.
Wendy Kuo

I must admit not know what to expect when I chose UOA for my outpatient therapy after a total knee replacement. The decision to go to UOA turned out to be one of the best decisions I have ever made. The staff, from the women at the front desk to all of the therapists I encountered were extremely professional and personable. I was always greeted with a smile. The staff was knowledgeable, always with a positive attitude as to how I was progressing in my therapy, yet always cautioning me not to over extend myself. My recovery from surgery was remarkable, thanks not only to an excellent surgeon, but also to the physical therapy I received at UOA. I have to give a special acknowledgement and thanks to Lynn for her guidance, patience and perseverance during my 6 weeks of therapy. She was remarkable! I highly recommend UOA for any physical therapy needs you may have.
Deloss Raymond

June 21st this year, I had TKR Surgery - left Knee (Dr. Harwood) Did Pre/Lim Home Therapy after short Hospital stay. Mid July started Outpatient Physical Therapy at Somerset UOA with Lynn Ust as primary. By the first half of September my progress was extraordinarily successful..! was very comfortable, resumed driving and performed many of my daily activities in a normal fashion. This September 20th , Back again to RWJ ( Dr. Harwood) for a TKR on my Right Knee. Plan is to return to UOA Somerset for Physical Therapy. Here also I expect excellent results. My History with UOA goes back 40 + years , seven Ortho procedures/surgeries. (I tend to be a bit active) They have the very best caring, competent, skilled, office, medical and physical therapy staff in their profession.
Gerald Forte

I had a total knee joint replacement performed by Dr. Harwood, followed by physical therapy with Mohammed and Lynn. I can't say enough about the wonderful care I received from start to finish from all of the people at UOA. Mohammed and Lynn were my physical therapists and they were very encouraging, professional, and knowledgeable. My surgery was 12 weeks ago and I feel like a new person with a new life ahead of me. I highly recommend the UOA physical therapists for those who are recovering from total knee joint replacement.
Sue Marotto

1 2 3 16

I thought the Kick Start Program was great! You put together and outstanding 10 day program. The exercises were very challenging, but you managed to make it fun, you were very motivational and we all had great results. You are a very good trainer and I know I wouldn’t have achieved the results I did without you. This program has gotten me back on track to exercising every day and really eating healthy. Thank you for all your time and your commitment to this program. I really loved it and can’t wait to exercise with you again!!!! - Kick Start Program, Fit Express Class Participant
C.F.

​Blake motivated me to get healthy and in shape the right way! From his sense of humor to his "is your face" attitude there's nothing not to love about him. I have never dieted before or kept up with a workout. He was helpful with suggesting different recipes and at home exercise ideas! He educated all of us and took time out of his busy schedule to help out! I would highly recommend him for any kind of personal training or just getting the motivation you need! - Kick Start Program, Fit Express, Ab Attack Class Participant
K.S.

I started working with Blake as an alternative to a traditional physical therapy program. Blake was able to develop a fantastic program for my primary concerns as well as a comprehensive total body workout. The sessions are demanding, yet rewarding. You can really feel yourself getting stronger everyday. Overall, the sports performance program has been great and I will be coming back for any further physical therapy needs. Bridge the Gap Program Participant
T.S.

Sports Performance Testimonial

Blake Swan is very knowledgeable with rehabbing my right rotator cuff. The rehab went so well I will not require surgery. Blake's program is such a great fit for me I have decided to stay on and continue with his program. Keep up the great work and service.  
D.W.

Armando - Tri-County Mavericks Baseball Club

Athletes of different generations change the way you view their particular sport.  They raise the bar for all who follow, but few can attain their type of status.  Blake Swan is just such a generational player who has raised the level of the Sports Performance and Wellness at University Orthopaedic Associates. Read Armando's Testimonial

I started working with Blake as an alternative to a traditional physical therapy program. Blake was able to develop a fantastic program for my primary concerns as well as a comprehensive total body workout. The sessions are demanding, yet rewarding. You can really feel yourself getting stronger everyday. Overall, the sports performance program has been great and I will be coming back for any further physical therapy needs.
Taylor Spinella

From beginning to end, my experience has been incredible. I was so afraid of having back surgery, but Dr. Chiappetta was so kind and put my fear to ease. The surgery team was incredible, as well. They kept me comfortable the entire procedure. My six weeks of rehab with Jess were a terrific experience. She rebuilt my strength and now I’m off, back into a world I knew 15 years ago - virtually pain free. Thank you.
Bonnie

I had a knee replacement in April. I started physical therapy in May. In July I am now able to walk, climb stairs and am able to perform my daily tasks. Kristine is a great therapist. She would always encourage me. Everyone at University Orthopaedic Associates is great.
Sandi Pinto

From the minute I made an appointment with their knowledgeable staff, I felt comfortable. As a new patient, my wait time was extremely short!! I was greeted as soon as I walked into their Somerset office and treated with such professionalism. The staff is extremely caring and polite. I was treated by Dr. McDonnell for my lower back. When he said I needed an MRI, who would've guessed that an MRI and physical therapy and a surgery center is all under the same roof? There was no running around for tests. I was extremely nervous the day of my surgery, however the staff at UCAS and UOA assisted me in every way possible to make sure I was okay. Thank you, Dr. McDonnell and staff for giving me my life back! I'm now able to play basketball with my son and pick up my one-year-old daughter. Team UOA!!
Davie McIarty

Thank you to the AMAZING staff and UCAS for your assistance with my husbands back surgery with Dr. McDonnell. Amanda, Janice and Susan will forever be embedded in our minds for catering to my husband and easing his fears while maintaining extreme professionalism! I never thought the surgical process could possibly run so smooth! I cant thank you all enough!! I wish you all the best and thank you for EVERYTHING.
Dr. McDonnell Patient

Dr. Kayiaros is one of the best doctors in my 78-year-old medical experience. He is caring, thoughtful, and his credentials are beyond impeccable. He has a wonderful personality to go with his expertise as a doctor. He listens, explains, and wants to make sure the patient understands what will occur. I had a hip replacement and I think he is absolutely one of the best doctors i've ever encountered. He is so personable and has a fine sense of humor...no orthopaedic surgeon ego! Couldn't recommend him more highly!
Patricia Osander

As you walk in the front door of the UOA building immediately there is check-in desk & waiting room. This is such a plus! No roaming the halls or looking for an elevator. There is never a long wait to see the doctor. The nurse will take you to the exam room for any tests needed. This is another plus as tests are there and now. Results are given to the doctor within minutes. He then explains your results and answers any questions you may have. The staff is professional, but friendly and go out of the way to make you comfortable. This is place to be you have orthopedic problem.
Doris Clark

I strongly recommend Dr. Matthew McDonnell and University Orthopedics Associates. Due to a large herniated disc in my lower back, I was in excruciating pain and could barely walk, but immediately after surgery, I was able to walk and move on with my life free of pain. I was incredibly pleased with the professionalism and personal care I received from Dr. McDonnell throughout the entire ordeal.
A.D.

“I work with doctors all day long and I have never met a doctor like him. He connects with you on a personal level and never makes you feel like you are being rushed. When you are sending your child into not one, but two surgeries you want to make sure you trust the doctor. I trusted him immediately which says a lot about his character." Read Nick's Story

1 2 3 5

UOA Restores Function for Young, Fit Man

Lou DeRoma was lifting his customary weight bar when he suddenly went numb from the neck down. As his symptoms remained, he was left with the question: What if I don’t get better? Then, he found Dr. Gino Chiappetta at UOA, who in a one-day surgical procedure at UCAScured DeRoma of a potentially life-threatening condition. “I’m able to hold my children again and feel them in my arms. That’s a great feeling,” concludes DeRoma. Listen to his dramatic story.
Lou DeRoma

Waiting for An Accident to Happen

…That’s how Dr. Jeffrey R. Bechler of UOA describes his role as head orthopaedic consultant for Princeton University’s football team. And that’s exactly what happened during Mike Zeuli’s freshman year game. When the pile on top of Zeuli dismantled, Bechler could see the player’s leg bent at an unnatural 90-degree angle from all the way across the field. Watch the story of Zeuli, who with Bechler’s help, went on to become the 2014 Ivy League Co-Defensive Player of the Year and then later sign a rookie minicamp deal with the NFL Philadelphia Eagles in 2015…
Mike Zeuli

Lori Testimonial


Mary Anne Patient Testimonial


Dovid Patient Testimonial




  • Testimonial Form

    Would you like to share a testimonial about your experience at UOA? Please fill out the form below to share your story. Thank you!

    Your Name *

    Your Email *

    May we use this testimonial on our website and/or marketing material? *

    May we include your personal information with your testimonial in our marketing? *

    Your Testimonial *

    Type the characters shown* captcha

Facebook Iconfacebook like buttonYouTube IconTwitter Icontwitter follow button